india looses

Women’s T20 World Cup 2023: England defeat India by 11 runs

Smriti Mandhana’s half-century (52 off 41 balls) and Richa Ghosh’s delightful 47 off 34 balls were in vain as India lost by 11 runs to England in their ICC Women’s T20 World Cup group encounter on Saturday.

India was unable to recover from the top-order collapse after the dismissals of Shafali Verma (8), Jemimah Rodrigues (13) and captain Harmanpreet Kaur (4), who were all dismissed easily.

Prior to this, India had limited England to 151 for seven, with medium pacer Renuka Singh (5/15) recording her best bowling numbers in the format. Her five-wicket haul gave India optimism that they may upset the Heather Knight-led team, but Sarah Glenn (2/27 in 4 overs) and Sophie Ecclestone (1/11 in 3 overs) prevented Indian batsmen from playing freely.

England kept their perfect start to the Women’s T20 World Cup going with an 11-run victory over India in Gqeberha.

Both India and England have won their first two matches, but the side that finishes first in the group is likely to escape a semi-final against Australia.

Despite a costly last over from Katherine Sciver-Brunt, England’s spinners effectively kept the run rate low in the middle overs, with India going 44 runs without striking a boundary, and Heather Knight’s team hung on to win.

After being called in to bat, England’s senior players kept their composure to recover from early wicket losses and posted a score of 151 for seven.

England had been 29 for three in the powerplay and were battling against the Indian seam bowlers, particularly Renuka Singh, who finished with figures of five for 15 from four overs.

However, Nat Sciver-Brunt steadied the England innings, scoring 50 from 42 deliveries and putting on 51 with Knight (28) and 40 with wicketkeeper Amy Jones, who also scored 40 from 27 deliveries.

India got off to a fast start, hitting 29 before losing the first wicket, with the Women’s Premier League’s most expensive player, Smriti Mandhana, leading from the front and scoring a half-century of her own (52 from 41).

The advent of spin, however, delayed their pursuit, with Sarah Glenn getting two wickets and Sophie Ecclestone’s four overs going for just 14 runs.

The 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup began on February 10 in South Africa, with the hosts losing by three runs against Sri Lanka. Matches will be held in Cape Town, Paarl, and Gqeberha, with the knockout games taking place in Cape Town. The final is scheduled for February 26, with a reserve day on February 27.

Each country plays the other four teams in their group once during the group games, which run until February 21. The semi-finals are played between the top two teams in each group. The first group consists of Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh while the second group comprises of England, India, West Indies, Pakistan and Ireland.


  • Friday, February 10: Sri Lanka beat South Africa by three runs
  • Saturday, February 11: England beat West Indies by seven wickets
  • Saturday, February 11: Australia beat New Zealand by 97 runs
  • Sunday, February 12: India beat Pakistan by seven wickets
  • Sunday, February 12: Sri Lanka beat Bangladesh by seven wickets
  • Monday, February 13: England beat Ireland by four wickets
  • Monday, February 13: South Africa beat New Zealand by 65 runs
  • Tuesday, February 14: Australia beat Bangladesh by eight wickets
  • Wednesday, February 15: India beat West Indies by six wickets
  • Wednesday, February 15: Pakistan beat Ireland by 70 runs
  • Thursday, February 16: Australia beat Sri Lanka by 10 wickets
  • Friday, February 17: New Zealand beat Bangladesh by 71 runs
  • Friday, February 17: West Indies beat Ireland by six wickets
  • Saturday, February 18: England beat India by 11 runs
  • Saturday, February 18: Australia beat Australia by six wickets

Group-stage fixtures

  • Sunday, February 19: West Indies beat Pakistan by three runs
  • Sunday, February 19: New Zealand vs Sri Lanka, 5pm GMT (Paarl)
  • Monday, February 20: Ireland vs India, 1pm GMT (Gqeberha)
  • Tuesday, February 21: England vs Pakistan, 1pm GMT (Cape Town)
  • Tuesday, February 21: South Africa vs Bangladesh, 5pm GMT (Cape Town)

Knockout fixtures

  • Thursday, February 23: Semi-final 1, 1pm GMT (Cape Town)
  • Friday, February 24: Semi-final 2, 1pm GMT (Cape Town)
  • Sunday, February 26: Final, 1pm GMT (Cape Town)


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.