“Gill comes in place of KL. We have rested Shami and Umesh comes in,” says Rohit after winning toss

The third Test of the four-match series between Team India and Australia began at Holkar Stadium in Indore, following a lengthy hiatus. Following the second Test in Delhi, which India won by six wickets to take a 2-0 series lead and retain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, both sides got nine days off.

Due to family obligations, Pat Cummins, the usual Australian captain, was unable to participate in the third test. In his absence, Steven Smith has assumed responsibility. Josh Hazelwood, Aston Agar, and David Warner have returned to their respective homes and have been ousted from the competition.

Shubhman Gill replaced KL Rahul, and pacer Mohammed Shami was rested to make room for Umesh Yadav. Australia also made two changes, with Cameron Green and Mitchell Starc returning.

“We will have a bat first. It is a pretty good dressing room and like you said the morale is high. The guys are confident about their skills which is a good thing moving forward. We have played a lot of cricket but this one is slightly different. Looks a little dry and you have to adapt your skills and be at it all the time. We are there yet and we have to come and win this game, we have to try and repeat the things we did in the first two Tests. It is important to stay present. We have made two changes – Gill comes in place of KL. We have rested Shami and Umesh comes in,” Rohit explained after winning the toss.

“Looks pretty dry and no surprise Rohit decided to bat first. Hopefully, we can execute our skills early and out the Indian batters under pressure. It came in at a good time for us, obviously disappointing how we ended the last Test match and the guys have had time to reflect, rest and get back into preparation. Just stick to our methods for longer periods, we went away from it, especially in the second innings of the last game,” Steve Smith stated during the toss.

Australia finished 156/4 at Stumps on the first day of the third Test against India in Indore, thanks to Usman Khawaja’s 60. The tourists enjoy a 47-run lead after dismissing India for 109 after winning the toss and opting to bat first. Khawaja and Marnus Labuschagne contributed 96 runs for the second wicket, the most by any Australian duo in the series. Meanwhile, Jadeja claimed all four Australian wickets on the day. On Thursday, Cameron Green (6) and Peter Handscomb (7) will resume their innings. Matt Kuhnemann was the outstanding bowler for Australia, completing a fifer. Senior spinner Nathan Lyon, who picked up three wickets, was a huge help to him. Virat Kohli ended with the most points, 22, before being caught LBW by Todd Murphy.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja, Srikar Bharat(w), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Australia (Playing XI): Usman Khawaja, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith(c), Peter Handscomb, Cameron Green, Alex Carey(w), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy and Matthew Kuhnemann.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.